The Great Storm is Coming, But the Tide has Turned

The New Year always brings with it a renewed sense of hope, maybe because of the change in the calendar, more likely because it has been preceded by Christmas, with all its promise of rebirth. My personal life has been especially hectic lately, but we have been amply blessed with good things. I hope the same is true for my readers.

The title is a quote from Gandalf in J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Two Towers. I wish I could say that the tide has turned in the struggle or struggles with which this weblog has been concerned. I can’t. We may be at a still earlier stage in the disaster faced by America and the other Western societies, and may need to come to terms with just how bad things are before we can figure out where exactly “hope” lies.

Politically and socially it is a bleak time. Obama’s re-election marks a new stage in the ascendance of liberalism in our society, and I expect to see the outrages and horrors continue this year at an elevated pitch. Hispanicization, amnesty by law or fiat, the growth of Islam, the decline of the traditional family, the promotion of homosexuality, the continued destruction of jobs and livelihood for traditional Americans – that these movements will continue is a certainty. For me, the consolation comes in knowing that the present liberal domination of society cannot last, being fundamentally untrue and unsustainable, and that resistance to it is growing, though as yet without taking effective form.

In my writing for this site, I have generally tried to keep a moderate and reasoned tone (I have certainly strayed from this policy at times!). The standard I set for myself was to write in such a way that, if one of my liberal friends or relatives happened upon it, they might be persuaded at least of my reasonableness and good intentions, if not of the truth of my positions. Mark Richardson of the Oz Conservative has been one of my models for this. At the same time, I have to admit that most liberals (meaning most of the people I know and most people in positions of power) are utterly impervious to any challenges to their liberal views. So for practical purposes I write primarily for those who are already predisposed to agree with me. What I and others like me are really doing is searching for like-minded people and for ways to give our beliefs practical or political expression.

The words of Gandalf express the idea of hope even in the face of worsening circumstances:

I have spoken words of hope. But only of hope. Hope is not victory. War is upon us and all our friends, a war in which only the use of the Ring could give us surety of victory. It fills me with great sorrow and great fear: for much shall be destroyed and all may be lost. I am Gandalf, Gandalf the White, but Black is mightier still.

My wish this year is to find new signs of hope, as Gandalf brought hope with his return from death.

8 Responses to The Great Storm is Coming, But the Tide has Turned

  1. “I ceased in the year 1764 to believe that one can convince one’s opponents with arguments printed in books. It is not to do that, therefore, that I have taken up my pen, but merely so as to annoy them, and to bestow strength and courage on those on our own side, and to make it known to the others that they have not convinced us.”~~ Georg Christoph Lichtenberg, The Waste Books, Notebook E, 1775-76

  2. Liam says:

    Great quote Mild Colonial Boy.

    Just posting the link below because it is beautiful. Seems a good enough reason to me.

    http://hitchensblog.mailonsunday.co.uk/2013/02/what-will-survive-of-us-the-miracle-of-chartres-cathedral-.html#comments

  3. Terry Morris says:

    So good to see you posting a bit more frequently again. I’ve always appreciated your ability to write well. I will check in more often now. Hang in there!

    • stephenhopewell says:

      Thanks Terry – I’ve noticed you’re back commenting at VFR. This blog is still alive, so don’t give up on it.

  4. Clark Coleman says:

    Conservatives often make the mistake of thinking that we must persuade committed liberals of the error of their ways. When we realize how unlikely this outcome is, we can fall into despair. We should recognize that the electorate is about 40% committed liberals, about 40% conservatives (although mostly libertarian/right-liberal types), and about 20% who just don’t have any grasp of issues at all and thus tend to get classified as independents, moderates, etc. These 20% mostly absorb the liberal ethos, but they are not committed ideologues. Unlike the hard-core 40%, they do not stubbornly ignore all empirical evidence and they are not beyond persuasion. We must aim our persuasion at them, as well as trying to move the pseudo-conservative 40% towards true conservatism. Forget persuading the committed liberals, and don’t despair over the impossibility of doing so.

  5. stephenhopewell says:

    Clark, you’re right of course, though it is hard when one’s relatives and co-workers are more like 99% liberal! Then, there is the trick of persuading the “conservatives” – who also don’t change their views easily. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

