Greetings on Independence Day

I inaugurated this blog on July 4th four years ago, and Independence Day has been one holiday I’ve tried to mark here. I grew up with July 4th parades and fireworks, which my father explained to me were meant to express joy. I hope you enjoyed this day with your loved ones and remembered the great history of this country.

For me it has become impossible to celebrate the present state of our nation. Obamacare is just the latest of “a long train of abuses and usurpations” by our national government robbing us of our liberty. There exists no force at present that can slow the immigration-driven breaking up of our nation and the decline of traditional communities and values. We are forced to look at the personal and perhaps the very local level for positive developments.

The Declaration of Independence still can speak to the heart of traditional patriots. If we cannot restore the Republic we must look to a day when we separate ourselves from it and begin anew.

***

Kevin Knauss has responded to my last post with a follow-up. I appreciate his commitment to trying to understand where one’s political adversaries are coming from. Just as importantly I thank him for lightening up the discourse with some humor! In return, I promise to read some of his discussions of the Affordable Care Act and learn how it looks to someone in the insurance field.

6 Responses to Greetings on Independence Day

  1. Liberties. I was thinking of the restraint on my freedom to express joy over the July 4th holiday. Where I live, Placer County, CA, fireworks are forbidden. Placer county is a very red, conservative, county in CA.

    To forbid the sale of fireworks seems something that a nanny liberal group of county supervisors would do. I do understand the danger they pose to public and private property. But am I not an adult?

    Why is it “OK” for conservatives to limit my liberty or freedom of expression but similar restriction would be labeled as oppression if Democrats proposed the same ordinance?

    I hope your 4th of July was as festive as mine, even without the fireworks.

    • stephenhopewell says:

      We had a nice day, thanks – I’m glad you did too. Forbidding fireworks doesn’t sound like a conservative cause to me! However, local administrative types are prone to making restrictive laws like that. A small town in my area recently stopped fluoridating its water due to a campaign from several fanatics on the town council. Ridiculous, but they had the majority and couldn’t be stopped.

  2. Terry Morris says:

    Hi Stephen. Regarding your mention of “Obamacare,” Federalist nos. 41(last four para.) and 78 destroy Roberts’s opinion.

  3. Liam says:

    Hi Stephen. Hope all well with you and yours.

Leave a Reply

